Ars Electronica

Back to:
last page
Prix 1987 - 2007

Prix-Jury 1990

ORF Oberösterreich

In 1990, the Prix Ars Electronica was expanded to include an Interactive Art category. During the previous years, artists had begun to take advantage of new technologies that allowed spectator interaction to become an important element of a piece of art. These new works often featured unusual formats, questioned the status of the person viewing them, and called for the development of new criteria in order to pass judgment upon them.
Golden Nicas, Awards of Distinction and Honorary Mentions were also handed out in the Computer Animation, Computer Music and Computer Graphics categories.

Jury 1990 Winner